San Bonaventura Province is born

A new Province, the Province of the Friars Minor of “San Bonaventura da Bagnoregio”, was born after a long process of collaboration between the friars of Lazio and Abruzzi.

Br. Danilo Tremolada, of the Province of the Friars Minor of Umbria, was appointed by the Minister General as Visitor and Delegate General, to visit the friars of the two Provinces and accompany them in view of the unification.

On May 9th, 2017, at the “Oasi” of Greccio (Rieti), the Minister General of Friars Minor, Br. Michael A. Perry, officially erected the new Province – resulting from the unification of the Roman Province and the Province of Abruzzo – in the presence of the two Provincial Fraternities. Almost all Ministers Provincial of Italy also participated, in particular Br. Claudio Durighetto, Minister Provincial of the Friars Minor of Umbria and current President of COMPI.

At 9.30, the friars gathered in the conference room to listen to the Decree with which the Minister General sanctioned the relinquishment of Office of the current Provincial Ministers and the suppression of the two Provinces; Br. Michael A. Perry announced the new Province “San Bonaventura” and the new government (Minister Provincial: Luigi Recchia, Vicar Provincial: Fabio Catenacci, and Definitors:  Riccardo Burattin, Luciano De Giusti, Daniele Di Sipio, Alessandro Partini, Carlo Serri e Nando Simonetti). The Minister General presided the Eucharist at 12.15, in the Shrine of Greccio.

This new Province has about 150 friars and 20 houses distributed in the regions of Rome, Rieti, Latina, Pescara, Chieti, Teramo and L’Aquila.

View/Download: Message of the Minister General to the New Province (in Italian)

Visit the new Province’s website for more information: (in Italian)