The Curia


The Order of the Friars Minor is composed of friars, who are incorporated in Provinces and Custodies and governed by the Minister General with his Definitory.


The Rule of the Friars Minor confirmed by Pope Honorius III (1223) is the basis of the life and the laws of the Order.


The Provinces and autonomous Custodies are governed respectively by the Provincial Minister and his Definitory, by the Custodian and his Council, elected by the Provincial or Custodial Chapter.


The Order of the Friars Minor is composed of both lay and clerical friars who by virtue of their profession of the Franciscan life, enjoy the same rights and are subject to the same duties.

OFM Definitors

The Minister General




On 21st May 2015 the General Chapter elected him as the 120th successor of St. Francis.


Wherever they are and whatever they do, the friars are to dedicate themselves to the task of evangelisation.


(GC 5, 84)