The Curia

The Curia

The Order of Friars Minor (OFM) is made up of friars, who, incorporated into Provinces and Custodies, are governed by the Minister General with his Definitory (council).

The Rule of the Friars Minor confirmed by Pope Honorius III (1223) is the foundation of the Order's life and legislation.

The Federation. The Provinces and Autonomous Custodies are governed respectively by the Minister Provincial and his Definitory, the Custos and his Council, elected in the Provincial or Custodial Chapter.

The Order of Friars Minor is composed of both clerics and lay friars, who, by virtue of their profession of the Franciscan life, enjoy the same rights and are subject to the same duties.

Minister General

Br Massimo Fusarelli, OFM

Elected by the General Chapter on 13 July 2021,  as the 121st successor of St Francis.

Vicar General

Br Ignacio Ceja Jiménez, OFM

General Definitorium

Meet the members of the OFM Government

Br Konrad Grzegorz Cholewa, OFM
Br John Wong, OFM
Br Joaquin Echeverry, OFM
Br Victor Luis Quematcha, OFM
Br Jimmy Zammit, OFM
Br Cesare Vaiani, OFM
Br Albert Schmucki, OFM
Br César Külkamp, OFM
Br Antonio Maria Iacona